The beautiful San Juan Islands

Stormwater emptying into harbor

Photo – Brian Rader, Pollution Prevention Specialist

Canoe Journey

Photo – Swinomish Tribal Archive

Historical Lime Kiln

Orca with tanker

Photo – Chris Teren

Pacific herring (Clupea pallasii)


Accountability Oversight Committee

Jamie Stephens (Chair – voting member)– San Juan County Council

Alan Chapman (voting member) – Lummi Nation

Stan Walsh (voting member) – Swinomish Tribe

Terry Williams (voting member) – Tulalip Tribes

Stephanie Solien (ex-officio- non-voting) – Puget Sound Partnership Leadership Council


Implementation Committee

Byron Rot – San Juan County/WRIA 2 Lead Entity

Kendra Smith – San Juan County Public Works Department

Kyle Dodd – San Juan County Health & Community Services

Duncan Wilson – Town of Friday Harbor

Alan B. Chapman – Lummi Natural Resources Department

Stan Walsh – Skagit River System CooperativeSwinomish Tribe

Linda Lyshall, Chair– San Juan Islands Conservation District

Billie Swalla – University of Washington Friday Harbor Laboratories

Stephanie Buffum – Stewardship Network of the San Juan’s/ECO Net

Kimbal Sundberg – Water Resources Management Committee

Phil Green –Marine Resources Committee

Arnie Klaus – Marine Resources Committee

Patti Gobin – Tulalip Tribes of Washington

TBD – San Juan County Economic Development Council

TBD – San Juan Community Development and Planning Department


Implementation Committee Meeting:

Bimonthly first Thursdays, 11:00 am -1:00 pm, 7/1, 9/2, 11/4
See San Juan County website Agenda Center for agendas and meeting links

Accountability Oversight Committee Meetings:

Schedule pending

Padilla Bay National Estuarine Reserve, 10441 Bayview Edison Road, Mount Vernon



San Juan County Oil Spill Risk Consequences Assessment and Emergency Response Towing Vessel Cost Evaluation, March 2019